Pt. Uday Bhawalkar

Uday Bhawalkar is a torch bearer for the ancient art form, Dhrupad, and a strong force in its growing recognition and popularity. Uday believes that when immersed in the note and raga, the self disappears and music takes on its own existence; the principle of ‘darshan’. These values are helping him on the path of devotion to Dhrupad. Uday has developed a unique style deeply embedded in raga ras and bhaav.

Uday has developed a unique style deeply embedded in raga ras and bhaav. This brings a creative melodic addition to the precise intonation and pronunciation characteristic to the Dhrupad style. Uday spent over 12 years studying and living in the traditional guru-shishyaparampara with Ustad Zia FariduddinDagar (Vocal) and Ustad Zia MohiuddinDagar (Rudra-Veena), the towering pillars of the Dhrupad tradition. During this period there was a simple and complete concentration on the music itself. This intimate relationship, in which the Ustads willingly gave their inner secrets along with Uday’s devotion, brought him to a deep sense of completeness and wholeness.

Since his first performance at Bhopal in 1985, Uday has performed in a number of prestigious festivals and events in India and abroad. Uday has also collaborated with artists from other disciplines and cultures including the contemporary dancer AstadDeboo, Ensemble Modern in Germany and musicians from Spain, Georgia and the USA. Uday has been blessed by UstadZakirHussain who accompanied him on the Pakhawaj at the Prithvi Music Festival, Mumbai. Additionally, Pandit Suresh Talwalkar and Shri Sukhvinder Singh Namdhari have accompanied Uday on the Tabla in a number of concerts. In 2012, Uday became an empanelled Guru at the ITC Sangeet Research Academy in Kolkata. The ITC SRA is one of India’s most recognized musical institutions for its contribution to Hindustani Classical musical education. Uday has also received prestigious awards including the Kumar GandharvaSamman given by the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh (2001) and the Raza Foundation Award (2007) given personally by the eminent painter, S.H. Raza.